1.1.1. Board
Murat Çetinkaya
Mehmet Vehbi Çıtak
Assoc. Prof. Lokman Gündüz
Prof. Necdet Şensoy
Prof. Sabri Orman
Assoc. Prof. Ahmet Faruk Aysan
Prof. Nurullah Genç

The Board is composed of the Governor and six members elected by the General Assembly. Board members serve a three-year term of office and one third of the members are replaced every year. The Governor also acts as Chairman of the Board. Board meetings are held at least once a month at the request of the Governor. The Board convenes with the participation of at least two thirds of its members and renders decisions by the majority of members present.

Duties and powers of the Board include making decisions concerning the monetary policy to be implemented and monetary policy instruments to be utilized in compliance with the monetary policy strategy and inflation target; setting forth regulations regarding banknotes in circulation; drawing up regulations regarding open market operations and foreign exchange and foreign currency transactions, interest rates related to rediscount and advance transactions, reserve requirements and the management of gold and foreign exchange reserves of the country; preparing the budget, annual report, balance sheet, income statements and the agenda of the General Assembly of the Bank; approving the staff structure and regulations on the administration, organization, services and personnel of the Bank. In 2016, the Board held 22 meetings and made a total of 148 decisions.

At the General Assembly of Shareholders Meeting of the CBRT held on 11 April 2016, Sabri Orman and Ahmet Faruk Aysan, whose terms of office were to expire at the end of 30 April 2016, were re-elected for a term of 3 years from 1 May 2016 to the end of 30 April 2019.

As of 31 December 2016, the Board consisted of Governor Murat Çetinkaya and the members; Mehmet Vehbi Çıtak, Lokman Gündüz, Necdet Şensoy, Sabri Orman, Ahmet Faruk Aysan and Nurullah Genç.

- Download PDF
- Previous:
- Next: 1.1.2. Monetary Policy Committee
© Türkiye Cumhuriyet Merkez Bankası 2017      Abbreviations      Disclaimer      Contact
© TCMB 2017   Abbreviations   Disclaimer   Contact